The Sick Season…..

We are coming into fall which of course is followed by winter. This is the time of the year that you get hounded by doctors on getting your flu shot, its the time where everyone starts getting sick (especially the school age children). We have already gotten our flu shots, besides the baby will need to get her second dose here in a few weeks.

Last week I received a letter from my children’s school saying they possibly have been in contact with Hand, Foot and Mouth Disease (HFMD). Some parents would have lost their mind or did lose their minds when receiving this letter, but I try my best to keep my cool. Of course it makes me worried because who really wants to deal with a sick child, especially if both of my children get it at the same time.

My kids have never had anything serious, they have had the basic ear infections, flu and cold. But today I found out that a girl in my son’s class has come down with HFMD, which her mom is a friend of mine, which is also how I found out. So I will keep a good eye on him to make sure he does not come down with it, but there is no need for me to freak out.

So to get to the point of this blog is to state that please do not stress out when you children get sick or you get sent a letter like I did from their school. Stay calm, take a deep breath and just make sure you explain to them on washing their hands, hand sanitizer, give them vitamins, make sure their shots are up to date and Lysol everything. Every child gets sick and I know some children are more prone to get sick than others. That is why I give my children a chewable vitamin C with their multivitamin every morning, this was recommended to me by our old family doctor years ago. She said to give them one when they start getting a runny nose or looks like they could be getting sick, she said I could also give them one daily and just give them an extra one if they are acting like they are getting sick. My kids do get runny noses often, but have not ran into anything serious in a long time, so I do think this vitamin is helping.

Vitamin C is good for the immune system, if the immune system is low naturally this will boost it and help protect the body from illness, if you are already sick which will call the immune system to become low this will help boost it and hopefully help get you better faster. I do know too much of any kind of vitamins can have a bad effect on you so just make sure you consult your doctor first.

There is also controversy out there about vaccinations. Now trust me I am no doctor so please do not take my word on any of this medical talk I am giving, so make sure you discuss everything with your doctor first. But from my experience I think it is best to get your regular shots. My children have not gotten any of the diseases that they have been vaccinated for and really have not gotten the flu either, and if they did it was short and sweet, nothing too serious. I do not believe that shots can cause autism or any other disorders like that, but who is to say that is correct. Please just do your research, ask a bunch of questions and have an open discussion with your doctor.

Please stay healthy this season and I wish you the best! And remember I am not a doctor or a health expert.

Leave a Reply

