The Life with a 4 Month Old….with a Waterfall of Breast Milk!

My youngest, Scarlett, just turned 4 months old on the 5th; wow how time flies. She is a sight to see grow and how she smiles and laughs. It still amazes me to this day how much all three of our children look so much alike and especially how our two daughters look identical.

Well Monday came along and threw us a curve ball. It was in the afternoon, I just got done feeding miss Scarlett and sat her on my lap. I was trying to get her to burp while I was on the phone with my mother. She finally let a burp out and around a minute or two later her entire meal of breast milk just came out like a waterfall. Of course my husband and I flipped out at first because it was so unexpected. She has not been sick or running a fever.

She got sick all over her, myself and the boppy pillow. I changed clothes and went upstairs to give her a bath and change her clothes. Once I had her washed I laid her down, put lotion on her and started to get her dressed when all of a sudden I heard a gargling sound and she started to gag, I immediately picked her up and she got sick again. I yelled for my husband, who was getting ready for work, because after she got sick she started to choke a little. Luckily she did not get any on her clean clothes or herself, just the towel.

We went downstairs and started to talk about what to do, do we call the doctor or what. I took her temperature and it came back as normal. She was smiling and acting like her normal happy self. After I put her clothes and the boppy pillow in the wash I started to finish getting her dressed since I only had her in her onesie. Well then when I got her socks on with no pants yet it happened all over again, but barely anything came out. So this made up our minds and we called the doctor to get her in as soon as possible.

The doctor examined her and she is not sick, but she agreed that that behavior is very unusual. She prescribed an Acid Reflux medicine to try to prevent this from happening again. She did state that there could be a stomach condition called Pyloric Stenosis that she could have, which is usually diagnosed at an earlier age, but can be found in babies up to 5 to 6 months. I guess an ultrasound is how it will be diagnosed and surgery is how it is treated and fixed. My daughter does not really have any of the other symptoms, but the doctor said it might be a mild condition if she even has it. So we will have to see if this happens again and go from there. I would love to hear from anyone that has dealt with this condition and share any symptoms and what you went through.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

